New Year’s resolution

Riiiiiiight.  Some people dread New Year’s resolutions, some make them but don’t keep them.  In order to ensure I stick to keeping them, for many years now, I only make ONE New Year’s resolution every year 😛  That’s right, ONE 😛  The reason is, it’s easier to direct all my focus onto keeping that resolution than it is to keep many.  I would be too distracted.

Sometime in October or November, I come up with a list of what I want to do.  Once December arrives, I start to narrow down to what I really want to achieve the next year and what I can realistically achieve.  Over the weeks, the list shortens as resolutions that aren’t feasible nor important enough are eliminated.

So finally I have……. ONE! 😀  Next year, this lass is going to dance again!  Not professionally, not taking classes (ok, maybe classes if the timeslots coincide with my schedule), but dancing for the sheer fun of it.  I would like to increase physical flexibility.

I’ve lost 11 kilos in total since 2008 and kept the weight off for years.  There wasn’t any crash dieting involved.  I just made fresh food and being active a part of my life again.  I’m at a healthy weight for my height and skeletal frame, so now it’s time to increase flexibility.

I stopped dancing for about 2 years and felt the difference.  I missed the fluid movement, fully immersing myself in the music and moving to the rhythm of a song.  So in 2017, I’ll take up dancing again because it’s so enjoyable.  If we want something enough, we’ll always make time for it.

Everybody has the freedom to decide how many resolutions they want to make.  Only making 1 resolution a year and focusing on achieving it works for me.  I don’t scatter my energy trying to fulfil many different goals.  Instead, working steadily towards keeping 1 resolution works for me : )

Wishing you fun,

Aquarius Moon

Leave a Reply

