Diet culture?

I came across a post by somebody moaning about diet culture.  She defined it as people posting about salads and healthy food, moving more, a supervisor suggesting a walk after a potluck breakfast with the team, etc etc etc.

Wait.  A.  Second.  She just described my life and labelled it ‘diet culture’.  Is she suggesting I’m perpetually on some miserable diet or that I’m suffering?!?!?!?!?!  This is how I used to live as a child and how I live now, save for a number of wayward years in between.

Eating well is a habit grandma instilled in me during childhood.  MacDonald’s was a weekly treat.  Otherwise it was mostly fresh and nutritious food all the way – rice, fish/seafood/meats and veggies.  For dessert, it was always fruit.

In 1 meal.  We were at an Indian-themed buffet.  If you’ve read my other entries, you’ll know I’m not afraid to eat and I consume decent quantities of food.  Sometimes copious amounts 😛  Heck, I enjoy my beers too!

I don’t diet; there isn’t any need to.  I’m active because I’m not a sedentary person and get fidgety very easily.  I move about as much as possible even with a deskbound job.  Movies are so long nowadays that I’ve given up watching them in theatres; I never finish them!  At home, I can pause them, get up, move around a bit then resume watching.

My lifestyle isn’t diet culture.  The author is entitled to her opinion but I don’t agree with it.  She would probably bristle if I label her lifestyle ‘Unhealthy Culture’.  Such is the double standards in the body positive community.

Wishing you fun,

Aquarius Moon

Leave a Reply

