The myth of the size 0 body

It’s baffling just how many people think being a size 0 automatically means you are rail thin, have eating disorders, starve yourself or look like a prepubescent boy.  Are those people making such snide remarks genuinely clueless or jealous? *ponder*

I’ve been a size 0 for a good number of years now.  I stand at a petite 5’4″ and have a pretty small skeletal frame.  I don’t skip meals, have decent portions (quite a lot, actually :P), consume good quality fresh food and have cheat days.  I weigh a healthy 110 to 120 pounds and have a BMI of 19 to 21.

I love sinful food, I have dessert and I adore beer.  I don’t nibble on miserable carrot sticks and kale all the time.  I love meat, I have rice and potatoes for energy and I obediently eat veggies so that meals are balanced.  I don’t spend hours at the gym either!

This is my size 0 body.  I have fleshy thighs.  I have hips and a somewhat defined waist.  I try to keep active daily but am not obsessed about beauty standards.  Yes, it would be nice to have a flawless body but there’re time constraints as well as other obligations, like work.  It’s enough that I try my best.

Time is too precious to spend every waking minute being critical of our physiques.  All we need to do is make the most of what we were born with.  With my skeletal frame, anything over a size 0 doesn’t look good and that’s absolutely fine!  I’ll just keep being this size, that’s all.  It’s healthy for me and it’s all that matters.

I don’t look anything like the ultra thin catwalk models who wear the same size.  I’m not underweight.  I’m slim, yes, and I’m as toned as best as I can given time constraints.  A size 0 doesn’t necessarily mean one is afraid to eat.  No way!  So please, get the myth of the size 0 being anorexic or stick thin out of your minds!

Wishing you fun,

Aquarius Moon

Leave a Reply

