Impossible beauty standards

The body positivity movement has picked up momentum in recent times.  Every effort is made to smash impossible beauty standards depicted in publications and the media.  Calls have intensified for less photoshopping done to models’ bodies and for their figures to be shown as realistically as possible.

While these are undoubtedly good outcomes from the body positive movement, I’m hesitant to smash the so-called impossible beauty standards and ‘redefine beauty’.  Beauty standards existed since forever so that women can aspire to be the very best they can be.  Sure, due to time constraints, we can never look like supermodels, but why lower the bar?  Why can’t we strive to be the best we can be instead?

Yes, photoshopping images is a tad misleading, but advertisements are meant to entice people to buy the products and services available.  There’s nothing wrong with enhancing models’ attractiveness.  Photoshopping isn’t restricted to female models.  Male models are subject to them too!

20160618_123752-1

Like every normal woman, I have a full-time, deskbound job.  Like every normal woman, I have time constraints.  I have a spine injury too.  But it’s those beauty standards that made me aspire to, at the very least, have my body look the best I can get it.

Sure, I’ll never look like a fitness model, or even a regular model, for that matter.  I may not even have the cardiovascular strength that some fat women who exercise boast about.  But through my own efforts, I have a taut, toned and trim physique and you know what, I’m happy with what I’ve achieved!

If there were no beauty standards to aspire to, we’d all languish in mediocrity.  How meaningful can life be without any challenges?  We’d all be so bored from the monotony.

Wishing you fun,

20160613_115240

Leave a Reply

