Stop being a victim

In 2015, I shared how, despite a spine injury, I managed to remain active, energetic and upbeat.  Rather than adopt a whiny ‘woe is me’ attitude and blame the world for my problems, I gritted my teeth and went into survivor mode.

The rewards are plentiful.  I developed confidence.  REAL confidence that doesn’t require validation from a body positive community.  I developed a positive body image and didn’t need to demand that everyone accept and love my figure.

Loving myself and my body enabled me to have good relationships with people.  I wasn’t snappy and emotionally volatile.  I didn’t snap at people because I was hangry.  I didn’t run roughshod over others then rationalise my ruffian behaviour.

FB_IMG_1446335832124

Truly happy people are very attractive.  They aren’t overly sensitive so they don’t suddenly snap at you for no reason.  You don’t need to walk on eggshells when you’re around them.  They’re courteous and diplomatic.

People who’re not really happy tend to be extremely temperamental and rude.  They then try desperately to justify their rudeness.  They’re uncooperative, passive aggressive, difficult and unpleasant to be around.  We’re better off without them, really.

This year, make it your aim to develop true confidence and positivity.  You’ll then find it affects every facet of your life.  It’ll indeed make you a better person.  You’re more optimistic, kinder, more fun and less grumpy.  Your mood swings will also lessen dramatically.

Start by ditching the victim mentality and be a survivor.  Surmount the challenges and triumph.  Give yourself that opportunity to savour the rewards of success.  Give yourself that opportunity to be even more confident and happy.

You’ll be a better person for it.

Wishing you fun,

20151128_161916

Leave a Reply

