#BodyLove – Love yo veggies and crab meat and veggie stew

I’m fortunate to have spent my formative years living with my grandparents.  Grandma is particular about health and nutrition and made sure to inculcate healthy eating habits in me during childhood.  These stayed with me throughout my life, including a love for all things soupy and balanced meals.

20151012_115724

Yes, I eat ALL of this at a go.  Veggies are good for us and they’re delicious!  Grandma served tons of good, fresh veggies, fish, meat, along with rice, noodles and porridge during my childhood.  To this day, I need to consume veggies every single day or something feels amiss 😛

**********

So here’s a crab meat and veggie stew that I made and which my man pretty much digs.  It’s healthy, nutritious and a good balance of protein, carbs and… you know, veggies!  Ingredients are pretty simple – you just need crab meat, carrots and potatoes.  For flavour, I used a little stock, ground black pepper, Japanese shoyu, mixed herbs and good old sherry.

Melt butter at medium heat and mix in Japanese shoyu.  Fry the carrots and potatoes for 2 to 3 minutes.  Reduce heat, add the stock, sherry and sprinkle mixed herbs and black pepper all over the carrots and potatoes.  Cook for another 20 minutes, or until they’re as tender as you want.

Stir in the crab meat, then cover and cook for another 5 to 8 minutes.  Season with more sherry, mixed herbs, black pepper and shoyu if necessary.

20151012_190902

Turn off the heat and serve immediately.

Voila!

Wishing you fun,

20151004_122951

Leave a Reply

