Body positive – how you can really be confident

Imagine a life with you being so confident about your body that body snarking no longer affects you.  Sure, it might cause temporary irritation which only lasts a few seconds, but you no longer feel insecure about your physique.

Imagine a life with you being so confident about your body that no matter how many insults are hurled at you about your appearance, you can shrug your shoulders, laugh them off and still greet everyone you meet with a radiant smile.

Imagine a life with you being so confident about your body that you won’t need to seek validation from communities in order to feel brave enough to wear a bikini or bodycon dress, because the only validation you need is within you.

Imagine a life with you being so confident about your body that you won’t need to fake it till you just about make it, only to dissolve into tears or cuss like a belligerent truck driver when you read a negative comment about your photos.

I’m telling you it IS possible.

You see, we can only feel shame if we know, deep down, that we’re lacking or we haven’t done something right.  If what is said about us isn’t true, would we be shamed?  Nope.  We might feel slight irritation, but it isn’t going to ruin our lives.  Or we could even laugh off the remarks.

20151128_101429-1-1

I wrote about the laughable feminist I encountered in Semarang.  She wrote that I had no boobs before deleting that comment in case she got flak for body shaming, I guess 😛  But she needn’t have worried because I didn’t feel shame at all!

Why should I be ashamed of something I wasn’t born with?  Yes, I COULD get implants, but decided not to.  Other than that, I do the best I can to have a healthy body.  All my photos aren’t photoshopped – try and spot evidence of photoshopping if you want, but you won’t be able to.  I’m proud to show you my body as is.

You can similarly feel this way if you take care of yourself by eating right and just being active.  Choose something you like doing so that you won’t dread moving about.  If you like swimming, go for it!  If you like cycling, go for it!

As you feel fresher and cleaner, your confidence will naturally grow.  After a while, like me, you’ll discover that what people say doesn’t have a negative effect on you.  You will never feel shamed about your body again.  You won’t need anyone else to prop up your ego for you again.

This is true body positivity.  Are you ready for it? : )

Wishing you fun,

20151024_120527-1

Leave a Reply

