Busting body positive lies – I really have a condition

I don’t need to tell you how many excuses people give for not taking care of themselves.  You see them in the comments section of many articles.  When people call their bluff, they huff and puff and blow the house down.

Now I’ll tell you about my condition.  I was involved in a very bad car crash during my teenage years.  The car my family was in was hit from the back.  The impact caused the car to rotate and the rear right passenger door crumpled.

My entire family suffered from back injuries.  At the time, I didn’t know how bad it was and continued being active.  Fast forward years later and I developed cervical spondylosis.  Those who have this will know just how painful it can be.  Every.  Single.  Damn.  Day.

The muscles tense up without warning, pain radiates from your neck and shoulder(s) down to your arm(s), you can’t lift your arm(s) to the extent that a normal, uninjured person can and any strain results in the pain spreading up and down the spine, to the jaw, to your temples and your head.

Sometimes the pain can be so bad that it’s difficult to sleep.  You can no longer do many of the things you used to do and yes, it can be depressing.  But then it’s your life.  You can choose to mope or do the best you can despite your condition/injury.

I could’ve whined, wept and played the ‘woe is me’ card.  I could’ve milked people’s sympathy for those who’re suffering.  But there wasn’t time to waste for that.  Instead, I just did what I could do for exercise.

Sure, I can’t play tennis, I can’t swim, yadda yadda yadda.  But I can power walk and perform other activities.  So I just got on with life and did the best I could.  Rather than wallow in depression and self pity, I’m leading a relatively full and fulfilled life.  I still have energy after work to remain positive, upbeat and cheerful.

If I tell any of the gym bunnies about my injuries, sure, they would feel sorry for me.  Sure, they would cut me some slack.  But I refuse to be a victim of circumstance.  There’s dignity in getting up, dusting ourselves and trying our very best despite a fall.  So what would you rather be?  The victim?  Or someone stronger than that?

Wishing you fun,

20151025_080601

Leave a Reply

