A ‘dress’ and vongole with an Asian twist!

So there I was, happily browsing when a tank dress with a slit caught my eye.  The sales lady confirmed it was a dress.  I didn’t bother to try it on for size and purchased it.  Aaaaaahhhhh, the perils of impulse buys!  When I got home and tried it on, this, THIS, was the so-called ‘dress’.

20150906_102612-1-1

Ans: It is NOT a dress!  Well, maybe petite women can get away with it, but how am I able to step out of the house without looking like a hooker?!  I’m not 1 of those feminist slut-celebrating women, thankyouverymuch! : /  And I’d thought I could bring it along on the Maldives trip.  Yup, I’m packing for it!!! 😀

So last weekend, my man was only too glad to accompany me to the market to buy fresh seafood.  Whilst browsing from stall to stall, we spotted a steel plate with open clams!  They were so fresh and luscious that we bought the entire plate on the spot and happily brought them home for cooking : )

Fresh seafood always tastes good, so flavours can be kept subtle so as not to overwhelm the natural sweetness of the flesh.  My man cleaned the clams and chopped ginger and garlic, then left me to work some magic in the kitchen ; )  Vongole is a very popular classic sauce for pastas, but we decided to enjoy it on its own.

Melt butter on medium-low heat and fry the chopped ginger and garlic for about 2 minutes.  Drizzle Japanese soba sauce and teriyaki as needed.  Stir in the clams and let them cook for about 30 seconds.  Pour in stock, sherry and mix in some ground black pepper.  Let the mixture cook for a little while more, then turn off heat and serve.

20150905_195053

We eat it all, including the ginger and garlic AND slurp up all the soup! : )

Voila!

Wishing you fun,

20150821_165612

Leave a Reply

